Chennai Super Kings defeat Pune Warriors by 13 runs

Tags: Indian Premier League - 2012, Chennai Super Kings Vs Pune Warriors 24th Match at Chennai- Apr 19, 2012, Kulasekara Mudiyanselage Dinesh Nuwan Kulasekara, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Marlon Nathaniel Samuels, Francois du Plessis, Subramaniam Badrinath

Published on: Apr 19, 2012

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

DLF IPL 2012: Chennai Super Kings defeated Pune Warriors by 13 runs in Match 24 at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai

Chennai Super Kings defeated Pune Warriors by 13 runs at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai in Match 24 of IPL 5. Pune Warriors chasing a target of 164 on a dry pitch were restricted to 151 for 7. This is now the third win for the defending champions Chennai Super Kings in 6 matches.

Batting first after losing the toss, CSK got off to a slow but solid start from its new opening combination of Faf du Plessis (58 from 48 balls with 4 fours and 2 sixes) and S Badrinath (57 from 48 balls with 8 fours. The two openers put up 116 runs in 15.3 overs. The hosts managed to finish at 164 for 5 in 20 overs thanks to Skipper MS Dhoni’s cameo of 28 not out from 12 balls with 3 fours and a six.

For the Pune Warriors, Ashish Nehra bowled well for his 2 for 23 in 4 overs. Marlon Samuels picked up three wickets but went for 39 runs in his 4 overs.

Nuwan Kulasekara Man of the MatchPune Warriors in their run chase were pegged back at 64 for 4 in the 10th over. None of the batsmen stayed long enough to steer their home for a victory and eventually, the visitors ended up with 151 for 7. Nuwan Kulasekara and Dwayne Bravo took two wickets each while Ravindra Jadeja was economical with his 0 for 21 in 4 overs. Kulasekara who claimed the big wickets of Robin Uthappa and Jesse Ryder picked up the Man of the Match award.

Toss and Teams: Pune Warriors have won the toss and asked hosts Chennai Super Kings to bat first at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chepauk, Chennai. As expected Ashok Dinda is out of today’s match as he had strained his side muscle the other night. He has been replaced with Murali Kartik. Albie Morkel has flown back to South Africa for some personal issues.

Chennai Super Kings: WP Saha, F du Plessis, SK Raina, S Badrinath, RA Jadeja, MS Dhoni (Captain and Wicket Keeper), DJ Bravo, KMDN Kulasekara, R Ashwin, SB Jakati, DE Bollinger

Pune Warriors: RV Uthappa (Wicket Keeper), JD Ryder, SC Ganguly (Captain), MN Samuels, AD Mathews, SPD Smith, M Manhas, B Kumar, M Kartik, R Sharma, A Nehra

Related News