Indian T20: Kings face tough challenge against Mumbai

Tags: Indian T20 Cricket 2019, Punjab XI vs Mumbai XI, 9th Match at Mohali, Mar 30, 2019, Mumbai XI, Punjab XI, t20

Published on: Mar 29, 2019

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

Punjab will be keen to get back to winning ways when face Mumbai at home in match 9 of the Indian T20

Punjab will be keen to get back to winning ways when face Mumbai at home in match 9 of the Indian T20 on, Saturday March 30. Both teams have won one and lost one game but Mumbai seem in better shape.

Punjab, apart from contrasting fortunes in the two matches, have been part of controversies as well. In the first match, it was all about skipper Ravichandran Ashwin ‘Mankading’ Jos Buttler reigniting the ‘Spirit of the Game’ debate.

Then, in the second game, there was the bizarre no-ball controversy, which gave a reprieve to Andre Russell, who finished with a stunning 48 off 17 balls, which pretty much made a difference in the match. Punjab will need to overcome these controversial moments.

Punjab will still be pleased with the efforts of David Miller and Mayank Agarwal with the bat, who proved that there is more to the Kings than just that great man Chris Gayle. They would ideally want the latter to get back to big runs.

Mumbai, in contrast, will be confident after registering a close win against Bangalore. Good efforts came from skipper Rohit Sharma who made 48 while Hardik Pandya and Yuvraj Singh came up with impressive cameos.

Their bowling was put under pressure by AB de Villiers, who made an unbeaten 70 off 41 balls. However, Mumbai were rescued again by the brilliant Jasprit Bumrah (3-20) and then the no ball, which wasn’t spotted.


PUN: R Ashwin (C), Sam Curran, Varun Chakaravarthy, Mohammed Shami, Nicholas Pooran, Moises Henriques, Hardus Viljoen, Darshan Nalkande, Sarfaraz Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Agnivesh Ayachi, Harpreet Brar, Murugan Ashwin, Chris Gayle, Andrew Tye, K L Rahul, Ankit Rajpoot, Mandeep Singh, Simran Singh, Mayank Agrawal, Karun Nair, Mujeeb Ur Rahman and David Miller.

MUM: Rohit Sharma(c), Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Yuvraj Singh, Anmolpreet Singh, Aditya Tare, Siddhesh Lad, Evin Lewis, Quinton de Kock, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Pankaj Jaiswal, Anukul Roy, Kieron Pollard, Ben Cutting, Alzzari Joseph, Jason Behrendorff, Barinder Sran, Rasikh Salam, Jayant Yadav.

--By A Cricket Correspondent

Related News