Bowlers, Rohit Sharma shine as India hammer Pakistan by 7 wickets in World Cup 2023

Tags: World Cup 2023, India vs Pakistan, 12th Match at Ahmedabad, Oct 14, 2023, India, Pakistan, Rohit Gurunath Sharma

Published on: Oct 15, 2023

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

India’s bowlers and Rohit Sharma combined as the Men in Blue hammered Pakistan by seven wickets in match number 12 of the ICC ODI World Cup 2023 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on Saturday, October 14.

Bowling first after winning the toss, India bowled out Pakistan for 191 in 42.5 overs as the batting side collapsed from 155/2 to 191 all out, losing eight wickets for 36 runs. In the chase, Rohit Sharma (86 off 63) fell 14 short of a second successive hundred while Shreyas Iyer contributed 53 not out off 62 balls as the Men in Blue romped home in 30.3 overs.

Sent into bat after losing the toss, Pakistan got off to a decent start as their openers added 41 in eight overs. The opening stand was broken when Mohammed Siraj trapped Abdullah Shafique (20) lbw with one that kept a little low. Imam-ul-Haq played well for his 36, but lost his wicket following a loose waft outside off stump to Hardik Pandya.

The experienced duo of skipper Babar Azam and keeper-batter Mohammad Rizwan added 82 runs for the third wicket to put Pakistan in a good position to post a 280-290 total. The Pakistan captain brought up his maiden ODI fifty against India, but perished soon after for 50 off 58 balls. He paid the price for trying to run down Siraj to third man as he ended up getting bowled.

Babar’s dismissal marked the start of a shocking batting collapse as 155/3 became 191 all out in no time. Left-arm spinner Kuldeep Yadav trapped Saud Shakeel lbw for 6. A few balls later, he cleaned up Iftikhar Ahmed (4) as the batter dragged a wrong’un onto his stumps. He was bowled round his legs as he attempted a sweep, but the ball hit his gloves and proceeded to hit the stumps.

Pakistan suffered another major setback as Jasprit Bumrah cleaned up the well-set Rizwan for 49 with a delivery that came in and beat him all ends up. The Indian pacer also bowled Shadab Khan for 2 with a jaffa that breached through the all-rounder’s defense. Mohammad Nawaz (4), Hasan Ali (12) and Haris Rauf all fell cheaply as Pakistan crumbled in shocking manner. Five Indian bowlers claimed two wickets each in a complete bowling effort.

In the chase, India lost Shubman Gill and Virat Kohli for 16 to Shaheen Afridi and Hasan Ali respectively. But Rohit led from the front with yet another impactful knock. He struck six fours and as many sixes in his 86 off 63 balls, adding 77 for the third wicket with Shreyas Iyer. After Rohit fell to a slower ball from Shaheen Afridi, Shreyas hit the winning runs by tonking Mohammad Nawaz down the ground for four and also reaching his fifty.

--By A Cricket Correspondent

Related News