England are ICC World T20 2010 Champions!

Tags: ENG v AUS Final at Kensington Oval - May 16, 2010, England, Australia, ICC World T20 - 2010, Kevin Peter Pietersen, Craig Kieswetter

Published on: May 17, 2010

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

England won the Final against Australia by 7 wickets with 18 balls to spare to lift the ICC World Twenty20 2010 Championship!

England Innings
England won the Final against Australia by 7 wickets with 18 balls to spare to lift the ICC World Twenty20 2010 Championship! It was a good toss to win indeed early on by Collingwood and having reduced Australia to 45 for 4 in the 10th over, it was like a job half done for England in this Final! The rest was about keeping Australia down to 147 and chasing the runs comfortably on an easy batting pitch! Craig Kieswetter and Kevin Pietersen put up that one solid partnership that was needed to seal the match in England's favour. The wicket keeper opener - Craig Kieswetter scored 63 from 49 balls with 7 fours and 2 sixes while Pietersen made an attacking 47 from 31 balls (with 4 fours and a six). The pair put on a match-winning stand of 111 for the 2nd wicket.
None of the Aussie bowlers created any impression on the English batsmen. The pitch wasn't having the same pace not the wicked bounce as seen in the Super Eights.
Australia Innings
Australia recovered brilliantly to put up 147 for 6 on board on a good batting track at Bridgetown. At one stage, the Aussies were down but not out at 45 for 4 in the 10th over. The innings never got going until the 13th over from Michael Yardy which went for 21 runs. David Hussey scripted the Aussie recovery with a 54-ball 59 while putting up two useful partnerships with Cameron White (30 from 19 balls) and Michael Hussey (17* from 10 balls).
Graeme Swann was the best bowler of the innings conceding just 17 runs in his four overs while taking the wicket of Michael Clarke. Ryan Sidebottom was the most successful bowler taking a couple of wickets at the top of the order.
Toss and Teams
England have won the toss and asked Australia to bat first in the ICC World Twenty20 Final at the Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, Barbados. Both sides have stuck with their respective winning combinations. The pitch has got the reputation of being quick and bouncy looking at the Super Eight Matches and both teams have the bowlers to exploit it. Conditions at Bridgetown are looking overcast, so there should be some swing in the air.
Australia Playing XI : David Warner, Shane Watson, Michael Clarke (C), Cameron White, Michael Hussey, David Hussey, Brad Haddin (WK), Steven Smith, Mitchell Johnson, Shaun Tait and Dirk Nannes
England Playing XI : Craig Kieswetter (WK), Graeme Swann, Kevin Pietersen, Paul Collingwood (C), Michael Lumb, Eoin Morgan, Michael Yardy, Luke Wright, Stuart Broad, Tim Bresnan and Ryan Sidebottom

Related News