Sri Lanka clinch Tri-Series with 74-run win

Tags: Tri-Series in Sri Lanka - 2010, IND v SL final Match at Dambulla - Aug 28, 2010, Sri Lanka, India, Tillakaratne Mudiyanselage Dilshan, Kumar Chokshanada Sangakkara, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Suraj Randiv Kaluhalamulla, Narangoda Liyanaarachchilage Thissara Chirantha Perera

Published on: Sep 01, 2010

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

Sri Lanka have given an imposing target of 300 for India in the Final of the Tri-Series

Sri Lanka defeated India comprehensively by 74 runs in the Final at Dambulla to clinch the Tri-Series. After setting an imposing target of 300, Sri Lanka survived the early onslaught from Virender Sehwag to peg away at the Indian wickets at regular intervals.

After getting reduced to 38 for 2, India fought its way back through a lovely partnership between Virat Kohli (37) and Yuvraj Singh (26). It was in the 16th over that this stand was broken by Thissara Perera when Yuvraj Singh got a thin inside edge to the keeper. Perera after a few overs got Kohli miscuing a big pull shot to leave India at 109 for 4. Once again India seemed to be coming back through a fighting partnership, this time between MS Dhoni and Suresh Raina but it failed to last the distance. Raina in a big lofted shot perished at extra covers after a promising 29. Soon MS Dhoni was left without any capable partner at the other end. He was the lone man fighting till the end and was also the last man out after a 100-ball 67.

India was bowled out in 46.5 overs for 225 with Perera and Randiv taking three wickets each. While Dilshan got the Man of the Match, Virender Sehwag picked up the Player of the Series.

Sri Lanka Innings

Sri Lanka have given an imposing target of 300 for India in the Final of the Tri-Series. Tillakaratne Dilshan came good with a maiden ODI century at home while Kumar Sangakkara scored an energetic half century to keep the momentum going on a flat batting track at Dambulla. The hosts got off to a splendid start with 121 put up by the openers. Mahela Jayawardene in a new role as the opener scored a slow 39 (from 67 balls) but it was Dilshan who kept the run rate going at the other end.

The Indian bowlers found no clue in taking the wickets and were flayed by a 185-run stand between Dilshan (110 from 115 balls with 12 fours and a six) and Kumar Sangakkara (71 from 62 balls with 7 fours and a six). Sri Lanka lost wickets in a heap towards the end which helped India to restrict them to 299 for 8. Munaf Patel was the stand out bowler for India with figures of 9-1-43-2.

Toss and Teams

Sri Lanka has won the toss and have elected to bat first at Dambulla in the Tri-Series Final. The hosts have stuck to the same team which beat India in their last match. India has made one change with Rohit Sharma replacing Ravindra Jadeja to strengthen the batting.

Sri Lanka : WU Tharanga, TM Dilshan, KC Sangakkara (C&WK), DPMD Jayawardene, LPC Silva, CK Kapugedera, AD Mathews, NLTC Perera, S Randiv, KMDN Kulasekara, SL Malinga

India : KD Karthik, V Sehwag, RG Sharma, V Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, SK Raina, MS Dhoni (C&WK), P Kumar, I Sharma, A Nehra, MM Patel

Related News