Flashback: World T20 champions – Part IV

Tags: ICC World Twenty20 2012, West Indies, Sri Lanka

Published on: Mar 15, 2014

As teams prepare to battle it out in the latest edition of the ICC World T20 championships, we look back at the past champions in the event.

As teams prepare to battle it out in the latest edition of the ICC World T20 championships, we look back at the past champions in the event. In the fourth and final part of our series, we look at defending champions West Indies.


The 2012 ICC World T20 was held in Sri Lanka from September 18- October 7. A total of 12 teams took part in the event again, and were divided into four groups of three teams each. Group A had India, England and Afghanistan, Group B included Australia, West Indies and Ireland, Group C featured Sri Lanka, South Africa and Zimbabwe while Group D comprised Pakistan, New Zealand and Bangladesh.

Group stage

West Indies’ first match in the group stage was against Australia, and they did not begin on a confident note. The Windies batted first in the game and put up an impressive 191 for 8 on the board. Chris Gayle and Marlon Samuels both blasted fiery half-centuries even as Mitchell Starc grabbed three wickets. The Australian chase was curtailed due to rain in 9.1 overs. By that time though they had raced to 100 for 1 courtesy Shane Watson’s 24-ball 41 and quick cameos from Warner and Mike Hussey. Australia won by 17 runs on D/L method.

In the second match, they took on Ireland, but the game produced no result. Ireland batted first and were 129 for 6 when no further play was possible. Thus, like England, in the previous edition, West Indies also progressed without having won a game.

Super 8s

In their first Super 8s tie, West Indies took on England. Batting first, they put up 179 for 5 with Johnson Charles making 84 from 56 balls and Chris Gayle 58 from 35 balls. England were competitive in reply as Alex Hales made 68 from 51 deliveries and Eoin Morgan blasted an unbeaten 71 from 36 balls, but they still fell short by 15 runs. West Indies failed to keep the momentum against Sri Lanka. Batting first, they managed only 129 for 5 in spite of Samuels’ half-century as Ajantha Mendis took 2 for 12. Sri Lanka chased down the target with utter ease, by nine wickets, as Mahela Jayawardene smashed an unbeaten 65 from 49 balls.

The third Super 8s encounter against New Zealand went all the way to the wire. West Indies were all out for 139 while the Kiwis replied with 139 for 7 to tie the game. The Windies however got home in the super over as Tim Southee couldn’t defend 16 runs in the over that mattered.

Semi-finals and finals

The Windies took on Australia in the first semi-final at Colombo. Gayle smashed an unbeaten 75 from 41 balls as West Indies posted an imposing 205 for 4. George Bailey was the only one who showed some gumption for Australia with 63 from 29 balls, but they were restricted to 131 all-out.

The summit clash was held between West Indies and Sri Lanka at Colombo. West Indies found themselves in massive trouble at 14/2 in the sixth over with Gayle gone. But, Samuels single-handedly took his team to a competitive total, blasting 78 from 56 balls, being severe on Malinga in particular. The slinger conceded 54 in 4 overs even as Mendis finished with brilliant figures of 4 for 12. Narine ensured that the score was more than enough as he delivered figures of 3 for 9. His scalp included the big one of Jayawardene (33). The rest of the batting line- up crumbed under pressure. The Lankans were bowled out for 101 as Windies lifted the title.

--By A Cricket Analyst

Related News